Member Login


Reginald F. Lewis
"Keep going, no matter what."

- Reginald F. Lewis

Enrollment Going On

Who's Online


Visitors: 780427


RSS 0.91

Events Calendar

« March 2012 > »
26 27 28 29 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

TLC in Manila Bulletin

TLC_MB.jpgNational daily Manila Bulletin featured The Lewis College on the front of their Schools, Colleges and Universities Bulletin section (E1), To see the online version of this article, click here (this opens a new window/tab).

  • The Lewis College Photo Collage
  • The Lewis College Photo Collage
  • The Lewis College Photo Collage
TLC - Regional champion in 2012 Programming Competition
After the final ranking, TLC's BS Information Technology's three teams emerged champion among sixteen colleges and universities which joined in the recent Annual Computer Programming Competition held at the Ateneo de Naga University.
The winning TLC teams were composed of BS Information Technology students (Team TLC) Gil Jamisola, Christian Ocleana, and Angelo Dogillo, champion team, with a 7-out-of-10-score; (Capslock) Aimee de Ocampo, Donnie Haveria, and Ezra Mendoza, third place, with a 4-out-of-ten score, and (Team CtrlPanel) Grace Valenzona, Jimros Geruela and Gilbert Perez, 5th place with a 3-out-of- ten-score. Dogillo, the only non-BSIT contestant, is from the College of Education (he's B. Secondary Education major in Math).  The teams' coach was TLC College of Computer Studies Dean Michael Angelo Brogada. "I felt nervous in the beginning," Geruela, CtrlPanel team member, said in an interview. "Praying before the competition helped me." He revealed that there were three steps that they followed during the competition: think, create, solve. Programming competitions mostly require calculation skills, and the most challenging activity is analysis of the given problem. "Binabantayan na ang TLC sa mga programming challenge," (TLC is watched out in programming challenges) the contestants said. They mentioned that other competitors even said, "Happy graduation!" to the champion team, who are receiving their diplomas in BSIT this March.
It's well-wishing, but they're also kind of reveled in the fact that the prodigious Team TLC is out of the game. For future computer programming challenge contestants, Geruela and the other team members gave this advice: "Mag-adal. (Study.) Join competitions only because you want to improve yourselves, and not necessarily to beat the opponent."  Below is the official ranking of the competition:  

School Ranking: Ateneo Programming Challenge 2012

1 - The Lewis College of Sorsogon

2 - Bicol University Main Campus - Legazpi

3 - Bicol University - Polangui

4 - University of Nueva Caceres - Naga

5 - Divine Word College of Legazpi

6 - AMA Computer College of Legazpi

7 - Naga College Foundation

8 - Sorsogon State College Bulan Campus

9 - Southern Luzon Technological College Foundation, Inc. - Legazpi

10 - Aquinas University of Legazpi

Honorable Mention:

AMA Computer College Naga

Camarines Norte State College

Central Bicol State University of Agriculture - Sipocot

Mabini College - Daet, Cam Norte

Partido State University - Cam Sur

STI Legazpi 


For more info of the competition, visit:     TLC PRO-Edel Anonat

In a related event, the same teams also showed their prowess as they claimed the first three places in the Bicol University (Albay-Sorsogon) Computer Programming Competition 2012, February 14, Legaspi City.


The first team composed of Gil Jamisola, Christian Ocleana, and Angelo Dogillo, got a perfect score after solving eight out of eight problems.  Meanwhile, the second and third placers were also Lewisians.  The team CTRLPANEL composed of Grace Valenzona, Jimros Geruela and Gilbert Perez, solved six out of eight problems, while the team Capslock comprised by Ezra Mendoza, Aimee de Ocampo and Donnie Haveria, solved five problems.  

The Divine Word College of Legaspi (DWCL) Team A garnered the fourth place as they solved two problems.  The SSC Programmers 1 (Sorsogon State College) and the Bulan Campus shared fifth place after solving two out of eight problems.  Another SSC team from Bulan Campus also got the sixth place.  The Informatics team of Legaspi City called Informatics Icon, landed as seventh placer.  Honorable Mention went to DWCL Team B and DWCL Team C of Divine Word College of Legaspi and Team ICILC of Informatics, Polangui, Albay. 

Next >